Mark Finch, CEO of idatecorp is a Spammer

Quechup.com is a spam engine built on social network.

I got an email from someone I knew and respected.   It appeared that he had invited me to join Quechup.com.    When I clicked on the link, Quechup asked for access to my address book to show me if there was anyone I knew on the network.   There were only 3 people, and none of whom I knew well.

2 days later, without my approval, Quechup.com sent spam invites to 1,400 people in my address book.   In the US, this is expressly illegal.   It violates privacy and anti-spam laws.

Quechup is a public company.   You can find out more here:

 http://www.idatecorp.com/index.php

I know that other people have been burnt and embarrassed by these guys.   I would like to publically suggest that we band together and sue them.

These people made it personal when they abused my valuable contact list.   So, I am going to return the favour.

Quechup is a Spam Engine

Glen Finch, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer at iDate Corporation is a spammer.

Chris Morley, Chief Communications Officer at iDate Corporation is a spammer.

Audrey Ragg, Chief Financial Officer at iDate Corporation is a spammer.

Paul Sugden PhD – Project Development Manager at iDate Corporation is a spammer.

Mathew Graham PhD – Project Development Manager at iDate Corporation is a spammer.

Justin Small - Marketing Manager at iDate Corporation is a spammer.

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon] Sphere It

7 Comments so far

  1. maggie fox @ September 8th, 2007

    You should post their email addresses here as well. I got that invite, both from you and one other person, and wavered a little before declining due to general social networking overload.

    Completely evil, and absolutely illegal. Where are they based?

  2. […] Rod Boothby has a more detailed post about Quetchup as well as a list of the firms’ executives and officers (amazingly, it is apparently a public company). […]

  3. Rod @ September 8th, 2007

    Hey Maggie,

    Thanks for the comment. Glad to hear you were smarter about it than I was.

    The company address is

    iDate Corporation
    6767 West Tropicana Ave.
    Suite 207
    Las Vegas, NV 89103
    USA

    Maybe I should fly out there and quiz them on it. Would make for a funny 60 minutes style report.

  4. […] one. Sadly this means that the people involved will have to change their names, as many people have posted background information about iDate Corporation and its […]

  5. […] iDateCorp company is receiving a great deal of bad press due to this activity. See my blog post on it and others: 1 , 2 […]

  6. George Dearing @ September 13th, 2007

    Hi Rod -
    Unfortunately I took the bait too..I NEVER agreed to have any emails sent to any of my contacts..I’m absolutely PO’ed. I’ll probably have to create a few blog posts apologizing to everyone.

    Thanks for bringing this to light.

    George

  7. Richard DePriest @ July 1st, 2008

    I figured they were ba$tards when I started getting all the ‘I want you’ emails requesting a reply. If you saw the picture I posted there, you would wonder why the attraction of all the ladies in the 623 - 32 age group. I generally only get super models living in Nigeria in the 23 to 26 year old range fall in love with me within the 1st email. (but then … what’s not to love??)

Leave a reply

*
To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Click to hear an audio file of the anti-spam word

Mandatory Headshot




My Work




View Rod Boothby's profile on LinkedIn

Contact Information








Blogging Groups




EI-V19-Badge-V6.png